NEWSALEMaterial library
Discover Materials & ToolsToolsSamples
Discover Mold-makingSoapstoneModelling Tools
Discover Furniture & LightingChildren's FurnitureFurniture advisoryAbout our furniture
Discover Picture FramesIndividual picture frames
Discover Paper & PensGift WrapPacking Paper
Discover Storage & Safekeeping
Discover Arts
Discover Office & Drawing
Discover Office Supplies
Discover Crafts & DIYTubing
Discover Application

Varaform heavy

2.0 x 450 x 600, white, 920 g/m²
(73,70 €/m²)incl. VAT / excl. shipping
19,90 €
(73,70 €/)
incl. VAT / excl. shipping
Width:
Variants:
Location in Store
Article No.0262924

cotton mesh material with permeable coating, square mesh (app. 4.0 x 4.0), spacing between holes app. 2.5, 18% cotton, 82% thermoplastic synthetic resin, heating time: 1 to 2 minutes, working life: 2 to 3 minutes, water repellent, biodegradable

Attributes: Varaform is exactly what the name says: a variable and versatile forming (moulding) material. It is made up of a natural mesh cotton carrier impregnated with a thermoplastic synthetic resin. When it is cold, Varaform is rigid like a wire mesh; once heated it can be formed for a few minutes into any shape you want. It can be heated and cooled repeatedly. This means that you can easily make changes to any shape you have already made and/or you can also use the material again wherever you like.

The configuration of the cotton mesh and the resin is the same for all three versions – the difference lies in the mesh size of the cotton material. The gauze version looks much like a translucent plastic film with a rough surface (to the touch) because the cotton has such a fine mesh that the resin impregnation forms a closed surface. Varaform light and Varaform heavy, by way of contrast, have a (in each case) given mesh size; this is a real advantage when making complicated moulds with undercuts or overhangs because no excess material will end up forming overlapping folds in order to fit properly. Varaform gauze, on the other hand, is better for dealing with more intricate details because it is thinner and has a closed surface which is more capable of producing details that might otherwise be too fine for thicker materials to bring forth. Consider also that this really comes into play if you want the material to produce folds alike those of a draped skirt chiselled into marble. The difference between the light and heavy versions is in the size of the mesh. Heavy has a larger mesh and is therefore somewhat heavier (hence the name!), more rigid and sturdier.

Varaform is very easy to work with – it is only during the heating of the material that care should be taken because the resin will become very sticky and sticks everywhere (to the master pattern, yes, but to your fingers as well!) if it becomes too hot. This attribute, on the other hand, can also be advantageous: for example, if you want to bond individual pieces of the material to one another or to glue another material to it. The positive take goes like this (in short): the material becomes self-adhesive when you really heat it up a lot.

Applications: Originally developed for medical uses (splinting material), this thermoplastic material is in the meantime being used for many other purposes: from animal preparations to fashion design, model making to restoration work, and is even being used for theatre and cinema scenery.

It can be used in the field of sculptural design to make moulds of different shapes or for making free form objects. You can make masks and moulds of faces or make relatively precise and, more importantly, quick moulds of larger objects so that the initial meshed shape can then be covered over with paper or cloth or have plaster attached. Even without any covering material, the white cotton mesh is sturdy, functional (you can simply attach things to it, hang things on it or run things through the mesh holes) and is visually very interesting all on its own.

Treatment: All three version of Varaform can be cut to size when either cold and hard or heated and pliable by means of scissors, nippers or blades. Varaform can be heated with hot water (app. 70 °C) or with dry heat (from a heat gun). Individual sections of your mould can be reworked by employing a Hot Air Gun or a hairdryer to reheat them first.

Varaform is very dimensionally stable especially if it is further stiffened by means of forming bulges and wrinkles in the object. And it is really very lightweight, about half as heavy as plaster, and this makes it a good choice for making larger objects. In such instances the resulting object can then be partially reinforced by adding a second layer of Varaform or some other reinforcement material (folding over the edges also contributes to stability). Another way to add strength to the material is to use a rolling pin to press a number of the sheets together before you even begin to apply it to your object or make your free form.

There are certain moulds where the following method is particularly useful: place a thin, wet piece of cloth over the master pattern, lay a heated sheet of Varaform over that and then work it into the details with your hands or by using a modelling tool.

Varaform can be covered or coated with a variety of materials: cloth, paper, latex, silicone, and other resins like polyester or epoxy resin. In addition, it can be painted using all the customary types of paint (acrylic paint, enamel paint…).

When using cloth as a covering material we recommend that you use spray adhesive (first and foremost: display mount).

The manufacturer specifies a shelf life of 5 years for this mesh material. The material will certainly not fall apart after that five years – the problem will most probably be that the efficacy of the resin impregnation will begin to taper off.

product
OWNEVaraform heavyhttps://www.modulor.de/en/varaform-heavy.htmlhttps://cdn.modulor.de/products/owne/1_480_480_r_varaform_heavy.jpgInStock19.9EURModel Making/Mold-making/Modelling Clays/Varaform

+49 (0)30 690 360CO₂-neutraler Standardversand kostenlos ab 79€ (DE)Kostenlose 30-Tage-Rückgabe im Standardversand (DE)

Varaform heavy

2,0 x 450 x 600, weiß, 920 g/m²
(73,70 €/m²)inkl. MwSt. / zzgl. Versand
19,90 €
(73,70 €/)
inkl. MwSt. / zzgl. Versand
Breite:
Varianten:
Ort im LadenEGI16B
Artikel-Nr.0262924

durchlässig beschichtete Gewebestruktur, quadratische Maschen (ca. 4,0 x 4,0), Stegbreite ca. 2,5, 18% Baumwollgewebe, 82% thermoplastisches Kunstharz, Erwärmdauer: 1-2 min, Verarbeitungszeit: 2-3 min, wasserabweisend, biologisch abbaubar

Eigenschaften: Varaform ist das, was der Name verspricht: ein variables, vielseitiges Formmaterial. Es besteht aus Baumwollgewebe, das mit einem thermoplastischen Kunstharz beschichtet ist. Im kalten Zustand ist das Gewebe starr wie ein Drahtgewebe, erwärmt man es, lässt es sich für ein paar Minuten beliebig verformen. Dieses Erwärmen und Erkalten kann mehrfach wiederholt werden, heißt auch, man kann die entstandenen Formen sehr einfach korrigieren und/oder das Material womöglich an anderer Stelle wiederverwenden.

Der Aufbau aus Gewebe und Harz ist allen drei Varianten von Varaform gemeinsam, sie unterscheiden sich aber in der Maschenweite des Gewebes. So gleicht die Gaze optisch eher einer transluzenten Kunststoff-Folie mit rauer Haptik, denn das Gewebe ist so feinmaschig, dass die Harzimprägnierung eine geschlossene Oberfläche ergibt. Im Gegensatz dazu haben Varaform light und Varaform heavy eine (jeweils angegebene) Maschenweite, was sich beim Abformen von Überhängen oder Hinterschneidungen, positiv auswirkt, da sich kein überschüssiges Material an anderer Stelle in Falten legt. Varaform Gaze wiederum eignet sich besser für feine Details, weil es dünner ist und eine geschlossene Oberfläche aufweist, auf der sich Feinheiten überhaupt erst abzeichnen. Obendrein ist es möglicherweise eben gerade erwünscht, dass das Material Falten wirft wie ein in Marmor gemeißelter Rock ... Die Qualitäten light und heavy unterscheiden sich durch die Feinheit der Maschen. Heavy ist gröber, dadurch etwas schwerer, starrer und stabiler.

Varaform ist sehr einfach zu verarbeiten – nur beim Erwärmen des Materials ist etwas Vorsicht geboten, denn das Harz wird bei zu hoher Temperatur klebrig und verbindet sich mit allem: dem abzuformenden Objekt, aber auch den liebevoll formenden Fingern. Dieser Effekt kann andererseits durchaus von Vorteil sein, beispielsweise, wenn es darum geht, einzelne Gewebestücke miteinander zu verbinden oder das Material mit einem anderen zu bekleben. Positiv formuliert: Das Material wird selbstklebend, wenn man es etwas stärker erwärmt.

Anwendung: Ursprünglich wurde das Thermo-Gewebe für medizinische Anwendungen konzipiert, kommt aber mittlerweile auch in vielen anderen Bereichen zum Einsatz: angefangen bei der Tierpräparation über Mode-Design, Modellbau, Restauration, bis zum Bühnenbild- und Filmsetbau.

Es kann beim Plastischen Gestalten zur Abnahme von Formen und zum freien Gestalten verwendet werden. Man kann Masken erstellen, Gesichter abnehmen, auch größere Objekte relativ präzise und vor allem schnell abformen, um die Gitterform dann mit Papier oder Stoff zu beziehen oder sie zu verspachteln. Aber auch ohne Kaschierung ist das gewissermaßen nackte, weiße Gewebe stabil, funktionell (denn man kann sehr einfach Dinge daran befestigen, anhängen oder durch die Maschen schieben ...) und vom visuellen Eindruck her nicht ohne Reiz.

Verarbeitung: Alle drei Varianten von Varaform lassen sich sowohl im warmen als auch im kalten Zustand mit einer Schere, einer Zange oder einem Cutter schneiden. Das Material kann im Wasserbad (ca. 70 °C) oder mit heißer Luft erwärmt werden. Mit einem Heissluftgebläse oder einem Fön kann man einzelne Stellen am besten erneut erwärmen und nacharbeiten.

Varaform ist sehr formstabil, vor allem, wenn es durch Wölbungen und Faltungen noch zusätzlich ausgesteift wurde. Dabei ist es recht leicht, nur etwa halb so schwer wie Gipsbinden und auch deshalb für größere Objekte gut zu verwenden. Hierfür kann es partiell zusätzlich durch eine weitere Schicht Varaform oder eine Armierung verstärkt werden (auch umgeschlagene Kanten tragen zur Stabilität bei). Eine andere Möglichkeit der Verstärkung besteht darin, mehrere Lagen schon zu Beginn mit einem Nudelholz o.ä. miteinander zu verpressen.

Für bestimmte Abformungen ist diese Arbeitsweise besonders geeignet: Die Urform mit einem dünnen, nassen Stück Stoff bedecken, das erwärmte Varaform darüber legen und mit den Händen oder einem Modellierwerkzeug die Feinheiten ausarbeiten.

Varaform kann mit Textilien, Papier, aber auch mit Latex, Silikon oder anderen Harzen wie Polyester- oder Epoxydharz beschichtet werden. Außerdem ist es mit allen gängigen Farbtypen lackierbar (Acryllack, Emaillack...).

Für das Aufkaschieren von Stoff empfiehlt sich die Verwendung von Sprühkleber (in erster Linie: Display Mount).

Der Hersteller gibt für die Gewebe eine Haltbarkeit von fünf Jahren an. Nach dieser Zeit wird das Gewebe sicherlich nicht zerfallen, eher werden die thermoplastischen Eigenschaften der Imprägnierung langsam beginnen etwas nachzulassen.

product
OWNEVaraform heavyhttps://www.modulor.de/varaform-heavy.htmlhttps://cdn.modulor.de/products/owne/1_480_480_r_varaform_heavy.jpgInStock19.9EURModellbau/Formenbau/Modelliermassen/Varaform/Varaform heavy